Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme


Pupils who participate in The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Scheme (DofE) achieve well and value the opportunities it provides.

ISI Inspection Report 2016

The DofE Award is an extremely successful personal development programme for young people aged 14 to 24. There are three progressive levels – Bronze, Silver and Gold – and the main differences between them are the minimum length of time they take to complete, how challenging they are and the minimum age you can start.

Bronze Award (minimum 14 years of age)

Volunteering section – 3 months
Physical section – 3 months
Skills section – 3 months
Expedition section – 2 days / 1 night
+ 3 more months in either Volunteering, Physical or Skills sections

Silver Award

Volunteering section – 6 months
Physical and Skills sections: One section for 6 months and the other for 3 months
Expedition section – 3 days / 2 nights

Gold Award

Volunteering section – 12 months
Physical and Skills sections – One section or 12 months and the other for 6 months
Expedition section – 4 days / 3 nights
Residential section – Undertake a shared activity in a residential setting away from home for 5 days and 4 nights

The DofE is all about going the extra mile – gaining new skills, pushing yourself physically, helping others and exploring new territories. At the same time, you’ll gather friendships, experiences and memories that will last a lifetime. Pupils at Lichfield Cathedral School start with the Bronze Award in Year 10.

Lichfield Cathedral School by Numbers

14 Visiting music teachers
300 Individual music lessons per week
11 School Governors
201 raised at our last Macmillan Coffee Morning